2018 UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION
FOR ALL INTERSTATE MOTOR CARRIERS AND MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIERS
The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Plan and Agreement are part of a Federally-mandated, State-administered program that went into effect September 10, 2007. Under this program, States collect fees from motor carriers, motor private carriers, freight forwarders, brokers and leasing companies, based on the number of qualifying commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) in their fleets. These fees, under federal law, are to be used only to fund state motor carrier safety enforcement efforts.
Make sure you are registered before you are stopped by Enforcement! Failure to register may result in a citation and fines up to $1,000.00. You must register for the calendar year 2019 by April 1, 2019.
If you were an interstate carrier in the previous year (2018), and did not register, you must pay the 2018 year fees also to avoid possible enforcement action.
*Mandated since 2013, carriers are required to “maintain records adequate to substantiate the information reported by the registrant on its application. A registrant must maintain a list of all its vehicles and those subtracted from its UCR count as set forth on UCR forms 1 and 2 or in some other form.” [UCR Agreement, Section 10 (9)]
Registration can be done on-line or by your smart phone at www.ucr.gov. Payments on-line can be by Visa, MasterCard or Echeck. Payments by mail may be made in the form of a company, personal or certified check, or money order payable to WVPSC (West Virginia Public Service Commission). A blank form can be found here. Please write your USDOT# on the front of your check. Mail your payment together with your completed UCR application form to:
West Virginia Public Service Commission
Top of Page |